Happy 1st Birthday!

Share-PlayThe School of Play turns one today! And as though by magic, it falls on April Fools’ Day.

Dare to Dream Greatly

The School of Play began as one of my most ambitious dreams to date. It goes like this:

One day, when my little girl is all grown up, just before she sets foot on her starship, ready for yet another intergalactic mission to make new friends and facilitate intergalactic peace, she turns around and kisses me on the cheek. “Mama,” she says, “I love doing what I do every day with my friends knowing that we’re creating a better world.”

And that’s when I know we’ve together created a world where everyone can thrive by turning their dreams into a reality. Just imagine what such a world would be like!

The Power of a Wish

Like all powerful wishes, The School of Play came to life in spite of seemingly insurmountable odds. Many people would tell me, “Are you sure you want to include the word ‘play’ in the name of your school? People might not take it seriously”. While others would simply roll their eyes with disapproval and disgust at the thought of adults having fun, not just at home but at work, too.

And that’s when I knew I was onto something important. Every time I’ve had a truly weird and wonderful idea, I’d experienced such negative reactions. That was, until I moved out of the naysayers’ sphere of influence and went in search for others who were courageous, nurturing and generous enough to let other people’s ideas live.

Tatoo

Carpe Annum

The first year of running the school has turned me into an entrepreneur, a product manager, a web designer, an accountant and a philanthropist and much more besides. That’s not to say that I’m an expert in all those roles, but rather I now get to practice whole-heartedly things like Lean and Agile principles and practices and put them to the test on my life’s purpose: to promote happier adulthood through lifelong play.

Gratitude and Friendship

And so it is with great gratitude and joy (not to mention relief), that I find myself celebrating The School’s first birthday with global playmakers in a world playground created by play visionary Mathias Poulsen with the purpose of creating a more playful society for greater good for all.

Lovely to have met up with my old friend Carsten Ruseng and many thanks to Flick Hardingham and Ben Ross for showing me the magic doorway to the world of play!

Party

Want to Play?

As part of The School’s birthday treat, we’ve launched the next 1-day play adventure, “From Strangers to Ourselves: Exploring Our Identity and Relationships“. We hope you’ll join us!

We’re also developing a programme on play intelligence – so watch this space!

Meanwhile, here’s wishing you a playful 2017! With much love from the beautiful town of Aarhus, Denmark.

Leave a comment